UAF Faculty Development

Your Faculty Development Team

Faculty Development at UAF is conducted by a team of three, each representing and advocating for faculty development in their areas. Provost Anupma Prakash established this team in 2018 as a way to provide a broad range of development opportunities to the tripartite faculty at UAF.

This team collaborates to provide faculty with as many opportunities as they can and value input from the faculty community. Please use the form below to ask questions or make suggestions.


Sarah Stanley: Enrichment

Sarah Stanley came to UAF in the fall of 2010 as an Assistant Professor. She is currently working on a project with others to develop a Higher Education learning network inside and out of jails, prisons, and halfway houses.

She believes in transformational community based learning and works in faculty development to build relationships that she believes will translate into an opportunity for more diverse students to teach and learn from and with. Sarah is the primary contact for the team.


Rich Collins: Research

Richard Collins came to UAF in January 1994 as an assistant research professor at the GI. He’s taught in electrical and computer engineering and atmospheric sciences and maintains an ongoing research program at Poker Flat Research Range focused on the Arctic atmosphere and geospace based lidar observations.

Richard’s primary interests in faculty development include how to support faculty in conducting research and scholarly activity and integration of research and instruction.


Madara Mason: Teaching

Madara Mason has been teaching at UAF since 1999, teaching in multiple departments over the years. She currently teaches for the Art and Education Departments and is the Faculty Development Coordinator for UAF eCampus.

Madara’s primary interests in faculty development include creative approaches to age old teaching problems, innovative programs that foster a no-fear approach to the classroom, and pedagogically sound inclusion of technology in the teaching practice.


Development Opportunities

Look for “#facdev” to find sessions sponsored by the Faculty Development Team and the Instructional Design Team at eCampus


SPRING 2019 Events

2019 will be a great year for diving deep into work that really matters…

Leadership Workshop

April 12th, 8:30-4:30

The Northern Leadership Center (NLC) and EPSCoR are offering a workshop, “Leading Your Self and Others Through Uncertain Times”, coming from D.C.’s Leadership Development guru John Riordan. Flexible registration options are available. The morning session focuses on leading self and the afternoon session centers around leading others. You can also choose to stay with us all day. A networking lunch will be provided for those interested. Register before April 3rd, as seating is limited.

Pre-Promotion Panel Discussion

April 19th 10am-12pm, ELIF 401

A mid-morning friendly panel discussion on pre-promotion concerns at ELIF 401 from 10-Noon. An annual tradition at UAF and sponsored by the UAF faculty senate Committee on the Status of Women.